Cajun Fish Tacos

I don’t know what it is about fish tacos. I only tried them for the first time a few years ago, but ever since then, man, fish tacos are my jam. I am a sucker for fish taco recipes. I feel like I should just go ahead and make fish tacos a category here on my blog because I am always trying new fish taco recipes.

And with a picture as pretty as this one, how could I resist?

Cajun-Fish-Tacos-N2
This photo belongs to CuriousNut.com

This recipe for Cajun Fish Tacos by CuriousNut.com was pretty good! But it’s hard to make bad fish tacos, to be fair. Also, that blog looks pretty amazing and I think I may need to go spend some more time there.

My favorite thing about this recipe was the smooth and creamy avocado yogurt sauce, and Hubby declared after eating this that pico de gallo should be a mainstay in our house and why don’t we make it more. To that effect, I’m making some tomorrow for another recipe.

My only criticism is that the fish was somehow not very flavorful. I used Pacific cod, which I’ve discovered is pretty cheap out here on the west coast, and all the spices used to coat the fish I know to be very flavorful. Still, somehow it didn’t quite come through on the finished dish.

Ratings

Flavor: Four Stars – Fish tacos are delicious and you should eat them. Only gets four stars because I’ve made even more delicious ones myself.

Skill Level: Low/Moderate – It’s not really that difficult, but it does have a lot of different parts. If you’re following the recipe, you have to make the pico de gallo (PSA: If you’re not inclined to do that, you can typically buy some in your produce department), then the avocado yogurt sauce, and then season/cook the fish. Nothing is too difficult, but it just takes some time to do it all. Don’t be scared to cook fish! It’s easier than any other meat. This is just pan-seared on both sides for a couple of minutes.

Overall: Four Stars – This was a good recipe that I can recommend. Tasty and relatively easy.

fish tacos
I never claimed to be a food photographer. But these were still yummy.
Leave a Reply

