Indian Spiced Stew with Chicken and Potatoes

 

Indian-style cooking is something that I really hesitated getting into for a while. Hubby loves it, and I like it a lot, too, and for whatever reason it always seemed really intimidating. Probably because it seems so unlike our Western cuisine. But I am here to tell you that I have had success in the last few months with Indian-style recipes.

It’s not as complicated as it seems. It just requires a long cooking time. I will say, though, that my Indian-inspired cooking has been greatly assisted by my discovery of Garam Masala in my grocery store. This is a spice blend that many recipes call for, and it sits alongside all the other more familiar spices. Once I discovered that, the game was on.

One thing I really appreciate about this recipe is its name. Indian-Spiced Stew with Chicken and Potatoes implies that it is done in an Indian-style without pretending to be authentic. The recipe comes from the blog Seasons and Suppers.ca (is that Canada?).

indian-spiced-stew4
This photo belongs to SeasonsandSuppers.ca

The author recommends serving this dish with fresh naan, a traditional Indian flatbread. I will admit that yes, I do have recipes pinned for making naan, but I’m a one-thing-at-a-time kind of girl, so I just cooked up some Basmati rice and served it over that instead. It was still delicious.

Ratings

Flavor: Five-Stars – The flavor of this dish seemed pretty authentic! It was rich and creamy, heavily spiced and deeply flavorful. Just what I want when I am craving Indian food.

Skill-Level: Moderate – I won’t say this was altogether easy. It wasn’t too difficult, either, but mostly it just takes a long time on the stove. You don’t have to stand over it and watch it most of the time, but it definitely doesn’t fall under “Quick and Easy.” I’m tempted to try it again in my slow cooker to see how it turns out.

Overall: Four-Stars – This dish was really great, and Hubby loved it. The time preparing it compared to delish factor drops it a star for me, though. Still, I would make it again.

Indian stew
Here’s how mine turned out!

Leave a comment